How Pinterest Can Help You Write

The Writing Days / How Pinterest Can Help You Write

I have a confession to make: I’m madly in love with Pinterest. I have pin boards for everything from clothes and interior decorating to motivational quotes and – you guessed it – writing. While Pinterest is not always great for someone as prone to procrastination as I am, there are many cool things you can do with Pinterest that might actually increase your productivity and help you feel and stay inspired.

Visualising is key

And I do mean the key for almost anything. Seeing your ideas in visual form can help bring them to life. I have inspiration boards for many of my projects (for example, this one for my 2014 NaNoWriMo project), and whenever I feel like I’m stuck with my writing, I go back to look at the images. For me, pin boards help rekindle that original idea that got me interested in writing the story in the first place.

Explain yourself

As a writer and director, I still sometimes find that words fail me. Words can be interpreted in so many different ways that it’s almost impossible to check whether everyone is on the same page with me. That’s where images come in handy. By sharing a board, I can also share my ideas and get everyone working towards the same goal. This especially works in directing when I’m trying to explain the overall feeling of the work – that’s where words fail me most often. Explaining that vague feeling can be really difficult, so again – visualise.

Understand yourself

“I write because I don’t know what I think until I read what I say.” -Flannery O’Connor
(Yes, I found the quote on Pinterest.)

Often, I don’t even know what I mean until I see it in front of me. Sometimes I accomplish this by writing, and sometimes by Pinterest boards. When images start appealing to me visually, I can get a clearer idea of what I actually mean. When I write, a brand new idea might surface as a clear-as-day mental image, or a set of almost unattainable ideas that I spend many frustrating hours trying to write. When I look at pictures, my thoughts start clicking. Of course that’s what I mean!

Do it yourself

Writing is both an art and a craft, I think. I love handwriting, and it’s always a pleasure to see a physical work that I’ve made. Pinterest is heaven for the eager DIY-type like me. I pin images of zines, journals and writing prompts that I’d like to try, and they give me new ideas. Staying inspired by physically doing something is a great exercise in keeping my brain active and thinking.

Motivate yourself

You know, it does sometimes happen that I’m completely uninspired. No matter what I try, I can’t seem to get my writing flowing. That’s when I want to read advice and motivational quotes from other writers. They help with staying focused, and at least I’m learning about writing, if I’m not writing. (Psst! You can follow my writing. Pinterest board here.)

 

Granted, Pinterest is not always great, but when you learn to search for the right content, it can be very useful. I believe that seeing what I mean is also a way to understand myself. I never really understood my style until I could see unifying things in my Pinterest boards – so these are the things that appeal to me aesthetically! While Pinterest is also just a really fun activity to do, it can also be a method of self-reflection. And getting to know yourself as a writer is really important.

Do you have Pinterest? How do you use it? Do you visualise your writing in some way? Tell me in the comments, and make sure to link your Pinterest if you want. I’d really want to check them out.

Love,
Aino.

2 thoughts on “How Pinterest Can Help You Write

  1. Great post. I try to use Pinterest in this way. I think it’s best to view it as a tool rather than a form of social media. That being said, I’m still struggling with it. I guess with these things, perseverance is key. You will find a way to make it work for you eventually.

    Like

    • How true! I also see it more as a tool, mostly because my friends aren’t very active on Pinterest, so I haven’t really noticed or benefitted from the social media aspects of it. I feel like it’s a completely different side of Pinterest than the side I use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

